The “You’re Perfect The Way You Are” Challenge

27594ff6dde511e29ee622000aa80004_7 (1)

So I was going to talk about my inspiration, because I had a crazy deep conversation with J yesterday night about going places and motivation and such, but I was on Instagram and this picture caught my eye. It’s titled “You’re Perfect The Way You Are Challenge.” Well that’s the hashtag, and I don’t really understand why, since all it caused us to do was realize how insecure we really are, how NON perfect we think we are. First I want to say how sad it is that someone made this, I’m not sure how to say it, but I’m not putting them out for doing this, even thought they did cause pain to many teenage girls, including myself. I guess I’m trying to say that it’s sad that society has made someone think about this. That someone would actually think “hey let’s try to tell girls they’re beautiful by making them notice their insecurities.” I mean seriously? Are we really at that point? Also, that it really WASN’T right for this person to do that, even if their intentions were good.

Also, even though I think it’s wrong, I did the “challenge”. With just one glance, I thought “oh, there’s just one or two things” but as I read each one to check them and got to the end, I had SEVENTEEN out of twenty one bubbled in. SEVENTEEN! That’s crazy, but I realized I was even more insecure than I thought I was. Before, sure, I thought about how my legs were a little weird, but it was whatever, they were fine. But as I read each thing, thighs, knees, skin, I realized I hated each individual part, and that caused me to check the “legs” bubble too because I realized I was just looking at the big picture, when I really broke it down, I was a mess. I’ve put the picture that I filled out personally in the bottom, if you scroll alllllll the way down. I didn’t want anyone to see it until I explained. So I want to congratulate the creator. Maybe your intentions were good, or you wanted everyone to realize that they’re perfect the way they are. Or maybe you did want everyone to realize how much they hated themselves. Whatever your reason is, I hope you know it made me even more insecure, because instead of thinking about each part of the list and thinking about how “beautiful” I was I realized how insecure I was, with every word that I read it got worse. This is answered in all honesty, and it’s how I feel. And looking at all the blue filled in at the end, I realized that I really need some confidence…

Dear society, don’t forget to scroll all the way down there, please and thanks, because for every single insecurity I have it’s something that you caused. Thanks, Confused.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

wordpressupload37364

Leave a Reply

